RVR Year End Awards: Wrestler of the Year

RVR Year End Awards: Wrestler of the Year

Hello and welcome to the Rear View Reviews 2017 Year End Awards spectacular. Before we get to handing stuff out here are a list of contributors:


Arnold Furious. Director of Content. Reviewer of the matches. @ArnoldFurious

Amanda Why. Interviewer Extraordinaire. Watcher of NXT. @manda_why

Ian Hamilton. Has seen more wrestling than you this year. @theianhamilton

Aqeel Khalid. Podcaster. Spewer of Lovely Takes. @AqeelKhalid

Chris Boyle. Website Organiser. Editor in Chief. @boyleybugs

  1. VK. Your Pal. Progressive. @vilinskikonjic

Jack Stevenson. Dragon Gate Guy. Rad as heck. @stevensonj95

Mark Ashford. Likes Live Shows. Sorry, “loikes”. @iloikewrestling


Not everyone contributed to every award, nor submitted a “top 3”. Points are given thusly; 3 points for first place on a ballot. 2 points for second. 1 point for third. I present a list of total points and everyone who got votes…


Lou Thesz/Ric Flair/BIG GRIZZLY Wrestler of the Year:

  2. Walter 9
  3. Pete Dunne 6
  4. Kenny Omega 5
  5. Zack Sabre Jr 3
  6. Hiromu Takahashi 3
  7. AJ Styles 3
  8. Naruki Doi 2
  9. Masato Yoshino 2
  10. David Starr 1
  11. Braun Strowman 1
  12. Will Ospreay 1


It’s been one hell of a year for Okada. A series of star rating destroying matches with Kenny Omega, ending the career of Katsuyori Shibata, breaking all the longevity records for the IWGP title. He’s done it all. His run of matches this year will go down as one of the all-time great runs in professional wrestling. Every bit as era defining as Ric Flair’s 1989. It’s credit to WALTER, wXw’s Austrian powerhouse, that even with those credentials on Okada he managed to make it into a tight contest. WALTER has had a huge career year; stealing the show for PWG, having a MOTYC at 16 Carat with Ilja Dragunov and having classic match after classic match. Pete Dunne’s involvement with NXT pushed him ahead of Kenny Omega and into the top three. Some interesting omissions; no votes for Tetsuya Naito despite his tremendous year, capped by a huge G1 victory.

Leave a reply