Rear View Reviews Awards 2018: Wrestler of the Year

Rear View Reviews Awards 2018: Wrestler of the Year

Hi and welcome to the Rear View Reviews wrestling awards for 2018. Here are the voters and their Twitter handles;


Ian Hamilton (@theianhamilton), Rob Reid (@britwresround), Mike Kilby (@mikekilby), Manu Romero (@manuromerograps), Alex (@trinidadchainz), Chris Boyle (@boyleybugs), Mark Ashford (@iloikewrestling), Mort (@brothermort), Joao (@thekingofboom), Amanda Why (@manda_why), Aqeel (@aqeelkhalid) and myself @arnoldfurious


The final award for this year goes to Wrestler of the Year. Last year this was very, very close. Only one vote separated NJPW superstar Kazuchika Okada, having arguably the best year of his fantastic career, and WALTER. Okada triumphed. Pete Dunne and Kenny Omega were also close. This year it was a different story altogether.


Wrestler of the Year

  1. WALTER 20
  2. Zack Sabre Jr 8
  3. Takashi Sugiura 5
  4. Kazuchika Okada 4
  5. Will Ospreay 4
  6. Hiroshi Tanahashi 3
  7. Kota Ibushi 3
  8. Seth Rollins 3
  9. David Starr 3
  10. Masashi Takeda 3
  11. Tomohiro Ishii 2
  12. Tommaso Ciampa 2
  13. Mustafa Ali 2
  14. Toni Storm 1


WALTER chopped his way into everyone’s hearts in 2018. He devastated opponent after opponent in a series of wonderfully violent matches. In a major category it was a landslide win for the big Austrian. Zack Sabre Jr, having had a breakthrough year in New Japan, also did well. Shout out to Takashi Sugiura for carrying NOAH this year despite being very advanced in years. Also to Masashi Takeda for making death matches popular again.

Leave a reply